Richard Rosser

A clever, able man, who used his talents and time to helping working people.

I held a harsh attitude to Richard; only really engaging with him when I was a delegate to TSSA conferences, and speaking out in a debate where I opposed road charging for t London. And feeling justified to the extent that Nottingham didn’t go that way, and that 45% of the levy is eaten up by the infrastructure.
I was disappointed then that TSSA had not been stronger when “hire and fire” was imposed on railway managerial grades in the late eighties, when his predecessor rang me to express his disappointment at how few members had stood up to the threat – I saw Richard as a continuation of the same.

We later found common causes in getting rail workers elected to Parliament and meeting campaigning for the development of the railways. So I came to realise his values and conviction too late. I was sad to hear of his passing. The Telegraph obituary demonstrates the width and depth to his character and life. He was even a Chair of a Finance committee when serving as a Labour Councillor – snap.
Wiki.

Leave a comment