Diana Spencer 20 years on

Flowers were left on the steps of The Council House and it reminded me of the full council meeting that took place on the Monday after the accident, and how some fellow Councillors were stunned by the news that the driver was drunk at the wheel and then I protested cos only one book of condolence was put out in reception and the queues to sign it were terribly long – and I just didn’t think it was neccessary.
I wrote to my branch on the 10th and expressed a fuller view, parts of which I regret a bit.  Including calling for a republic – really, we kinda are already, and although it’s annoying Prince Charles doesn’t get it.  Too keen to give Tony Blair some credit – I hated his remarks on the Sunday morning.  I felt what it brought on was to be Britain at its worst – gushing over a celebrity death.

Leave a Reply

